Jug and Walter, comrades-in-arms – update

His granddaughter  just left a comment…

My Grandpa was David “Jug” Dack and I am so sorry I am just finding this blog! I was wondering if you were still keeping up with it? Can I look for some more information or photos for you?

Original  post

Jug Dack was also a pilot stationed at Torbay. Jug and Walter are seen together in the photo album of Flight Lieutenant Walter Neil Dove.

I wrote an article about him on my other blog. Maybe someday someone will recognise him and write me like the son of Captain Foster did…

What an amazing blog and what a wonderful tribute to those who served in 403 squadron. I am Cap’s youngest son and can’t thank you and Greg enough for putting this together.

I can answer your question as to whether or not Cap was Eugene Gagnon’s flight instructor unfortunately he was not, I just searched through my father’s  log books from his time at 6 SFTS in Dunnville and Eugene’s name was not there. Too bad because that would have been so very cool.

I look forward to learning more about the history of the Wolf Squadron and once again thank you so much for your efforts.

Greg wrote me about Jug…

Dave “Jug” Dack was with my grandpa pretty much everywhere. Torbay and England area. Have you put up a profile? I’d like to show my Grandma, when I see her next, she remembers him the best.

Greg

Walter and his wife Elizabeth are seen with another pilot, Dave Dack and his wife Vera.

It was taken in June 1944 in Hotel Montreal the summer before Walter went overseas where he flew 74 missions on Spitfires.

David Dack was born in Calgary, Alberta, 9 May 1920. He enlisted in the RCAF in June 1941 and started his training at no. 2 ITS Regina then trained at No. 19 EFTS Virden. He graduated at No. 2 SFTS Uplands in April 1942.

He went to “Y” Depot, in Halifax, while waiting for his posting in England. He was finally posted with RCAF No. 128 in Sydney, Nova-Scotia.  In March 1944, he was transfered to Torbay before going to England in June. He was sent to No. 61 O.T.U. in August for conversion on Spitire. He was posted after with 83 Group then with 401 Squadron on 1 December as a Flying Officer. He stayed with that squadron until the end of the war. He was then posted with 411 Squadron then 416 Squadron in July. He came back to Canada in December and left the RCAF in January 1946.

Nothing much on him on the Internet. I am posting this picture of Jug at Torbay.

He is not alone as we can see.

Walter Neil Dove wrote in the back all the names.

One thought on “Jug and Walter, comrades-in-arms – update

Leave a Reply

